Flying solo!

April 20, 2011

I just returned from a visa run to Singapore because our visas only last for 90 days outside of Singapore.  Elder Teng and I stayed up way too late talking and he taught me how to play Chinese chess.  The frustration that I felt when I was with him is completely gone.  My three short months with him in Singapore were difficult but, after spending the day with him yesterday I realized that I no longer have any hard feelings.  I know it sounds like it’s a stupid thing that every child is expected to do, but it’s pretty much a miracle to me.  I talked with him like I would anyone else and it was great.  I’m not saying I’m ready to serve with him again, but it’s a big step for me.

Mission Office

My one day in Singapore was so much fun!  It was also really nostalgic.  It got me thinking about all the stuff I did there; the fun and the not so fun — just everything.  Believe it or not, President Clark had me travel completely alone from my house in Kuching all the way to the mission office in Singapore and then back again.  Being alone while I traveled was so weird!

Chili's menu

I picked up a sweet Chinese shirt in Singapore.  It’s very traditional and made of silk. And then we ate at Chili’s.  It was amazing!  I had ribs with bottomless chips and salsa.  It was a bit expensive, but well worth it for my visa run.  My short stay in Singapore was not all play, however.  I helped the office elders teach some lessons to two golden investigators who had been previously set for baptism but never followed through.  Now, three and four years later respectively, they’re back.  Both of them are now on date to be baptized next month.  It was so cool.  They are both so completely normal, a rare thing for me during my experience in Malaysia.

When I returned Elder Jenkins informed me that we now have a Chinese group leader in Kuching!   His name is Alistor Teo.  He’s a good guy, and I think he’ll be able to help us a lot.  I’m so excited.  Now we need to go reactivate all those inactive families and get our attendance up!  Man, this got me stoked to go out and work.  Investigators can finally hear their own language at church and so can the members.  This just builds on success we’re already having.  We’ve been finding new investigators and teaching good lessons. Work is really looking up!

As I’m typing right now there is some kid playing a computer game across the room and the volume is all the way up.  Some stupid voice that keeps saying over and over again, “For my ancestors” and “Yes, General.”  So now that I’m fed up with it, I’m playing “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing” by MoTab and I’m blasting it to drown out his annoying sounds.  If I weren’t wearing a name tag right now, I’d loose it on him.  (Even with it on I’m not doing so well.)  Turn down your flippin’ game!  Sorry, since I can’t say it to him I’m typing it instead.  Hopefully, my music is at least letting him know that I want him to turn his stuff down, but it doesn’t seem to be working.  Time for “Praise to the Man.”  I’m done.

Love you guys!

Also Can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment