23 months!

May 2, 2012

Well, next week I will hit the 23-month mark.  Holy cow!  It’s been a long time but thinking back, it all seems like it’s only been a couple months.  Sorry.  Not trying to be trunky or anything.  As for Mother’s Day, I will call the Monday after – my Monday.  Don’t wanna take the time to figure out what day that is for you.  Speaking of time, do you know that I leave the Tokyo airport at 2:00 p.m. and get to Las Vegas at 12:00 p.m.? So, I will arrive in Las Vegas before I even leave Tokyo.  That’s mind boggling.

Police in KL

So I’m e-mailing a day later than usual because we had another Zone Leader Conference in KL yesterday.  You may have seen in the news that there have been several riots there.  We were at a restaurant in Singapore the day before and saw the riots on TV.  Other than a ton of cops everywhere, there was no excitement while we were there.  We were never bothered.

Is Sam interested in some Beats (by Dr. Dre) headphones?  I can get them for about $60 U.S.  I’m sure they’re knock-offs, but good ones.  They’re dang cool looking.  You want? Next, does any one else want something from there?  Maybe a watch or shirt or laser pen?  I’ll only go one more time before I head back to the U.S. of A. so let me know.

So, we just had an interesting phone call.  Laurel will be baptized on Saturday.  There is also a child baptism for our ward the same day.  We assumed we would have them together, but there was some confusion.  I called the bishop and explained the situation. He said, “Wait, why not just have them together?  Who said no?  Kai Hui!  No, no, no, no, no.  I’ll call you back.”  And call he did.  Ten minutes the phone rang and he told us that everything is worked out.  Good man.  Cultural differences run a lot deeper than I would have expected.  I decided that traditional Chinese cultural is as different from American culture as I could imagine.  It requires a fair amount of working things out.  I know there’s a better word to use but I’ve been racking my mind for about five minutes now and I’m still drawing a blank so that will have to do.  (“Compromise,” perhaps?)

We finally heard back from Lena.  She says that maybe baptism isn’t for her but I think she might just be a little confused on what tithing is so we are going meet on Saturday and get it worked out.  No worries.

Everyone else is doing well.  I’m going to eat some food and then go teach the rest of the day.  No P-day this week, and you know what?  It doesn’t bother me in the least.

Love you all!

Also can,

Elder  Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

