Flesh eating fish!

June 13, 2012

Budda Tooth Relic Temple, Singapore

I can’t believe I only have 12 days.  I just watched all of the people from my MTC group go home.  They headed out a couple weeks early.  At first I wanted to go with them but at this point I’m just happy that I get to stay a bit longer.
For the news this week let’s start with the KL trip.  I knew it would be my last one so we left a few hours early and met up with Elders Polley and Brown to jalan-jalan (Malaysian for “go for a walk”) a bit.  Then we went to a fish spa.  So crazy.  You sit down and put your feet in this water filled with little fish then they all come up and start to bite your feet.  It is very ticklish at first but then fades into kind of a background feeling and you can just relax.  Can’t imagine we’d ever have this in the States because it’s just about the least hygienic thing I can imagine.  I bought Sam a pair of knockoff Beats (headphones)  and found another guy to paint my name.

Fish spa

Training was almost surreal.  It was all about the planning and area books.  We’ve been getting back to basics for about a year now and we finally reached full circle on the basic list.  Well, almost I guess.  A testimony is first, but if you’re thinking about serving and aren’t sure your testimony is strong enough, stop it!  A mission builds your testimony more than could imagine.  Just get out and do it first.  Anyway, success is 80% about showing up and 20% other things.

Qinglin’s baptism

On Saturday, after we arrived back from KL, one of the sisters’ investigators asked me to baptize him.  No complaints about that.

Sunday was fun.  Elder Wood and I taught with our Ward Mission Leader and spiced things up.  We drew pictures and taught the principle of faith via a trust fall.  Elder Wood scheduled a lesson far away later on Sunday.  I found out, after the fact, that he did not confirm the appointment, so we ended up teaching the member we arranged to be there with us.

Monday was awful.  Pretty much everyone we were teaching fell through, but Sean, Jeannie and Laurel are doing extremely well.  If they were my only baptisms my entire mission, it would have been a huge success!

I still just feel like transfers are approaching in a couple weeks and I’m not going home. Love you guys, and see you soon!

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

