A voice of great thunder…

April 5, 2012

This whole week has been one with very little sleep.  We’ve had thunderstorms so loud that they wake me up and keep me up most of the night.  Last night I just couldn’t fall asleep.  And just I was dozing off I received a text from an investigator named Laurel: “Hi.  Elder Wood and Moody.  Sorry for disturbing you at the midnight, but I want to say that since thirty minutes ago, I have believed in the Lord Jesus Christ.  He’s the last of the three, and now I believe He is the One.  Thanks.  Goodnight.”  I was blown away.  This is a girl from China that has been to many different churches in Singapore and has listened to many different doctrines.  The first two lessons with her we spent answering questions that were all over the board.  Finally, we just told her to read the Book of Mormon and pray to know if it is true.  And she did, and He did.  You can always trust the Spirit you know?  Well, that was just a little miracle from last night but this week has been full of them.

Jeannie, the Singaporean investigator, texted last night and asked to push her baptism up to this Saturday, so we did.  She wanted as many friends to come as possible so she had it moved up.  I’ll send pics and tell you about it next week.  Elder Wood seems to be in cleaning overdrive.  He can’t sit still.  He cleans with any spare time that he has, including the bookshelf in the corner that no one has touched for years.  He can’t sit still and I’m very relaxed.  When we’re waiting for an investigator to show up, he wants to go down and look for them.  Why would we do that?  They know exactly where they’re going and I know they’ll show up eventually.  I usually just tease him for being so antsy until he sits down.  I think cleaning is just one way to redirecting his energy.

I’m doing really well.  My foot is still bruised, but the bruises moved from my foot to my toes.  They’re all purple and weird looking but I’m almost walking normally again.

We lost a sister from the zone to Kuching but gained two more including a greenie.  We’re so busy teaching that we are doing very little street contacting.

Compassvale Link Chapel

I’m sending a photo of the new Compassvale Link Chapel.  It is less than a year old and is located in the Sengkang housing estate.  Elder Anthony Perkins, Asia Area President, presided over the dedication last June.  The Bedok and Ang Mo Kio Wards meet in this chapel.

The Singapore Stake was established in February of 1995 and reached 3,300 in membership last year.  The saints in Singapore now meet in three locations: the Stake Center in Bukit Timah, Pasir Panjang, and Compassvale Link.

Love you guys!

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

