Merry Christmas, 圣诞快乐 (Chinese) and Hari Rays Krismas (Malay)

Hari rays Krismas!

December 21, 2011

Since I emailed on Saturday last time, and it’s only been three days so I don’t have much to report.  On Sunday we had 14 people at church!  Total.  No investigators.  However, the former branch president is back from Australia for a month and he brought the previous branch clerk who hasn’t been to church in over a year so we got to see him.  Also, Rosalind came with her daughter, Christy, for the second time in consecutive Sundays.  New record!  The next day, at Big Mac Monday, we saw them again.

Also we have been caroling at all the members’ houses, but Chinese caroling isn’t quite the same.  You show up, sing, and don’t leave.  It’s all pre-arranged so when you show up they always have food prepared.  We sing, have a prayer, sing some more, sit down and eat, sing some more, then pray and finally leave.  Each one takes about two hours.  So far we’ve been to the branch president’s, Judy’s, Roy’s, and Susan and Chen’s.  All were very fun.  At Roy’s they made me and Elder Forsyth sing a duet.  Caroling last night was very memorable.  I rode there with Roy to help him find it and Elder Forsyth went with Elder & Sister Hodder.  When we showed up, there was a car that didn’t look right.  Then I learned that it drove into the open drainage ditch.  Wow.  Only two tires were on the ground.  Luckily, Brother Chen has seen that problem before and knew just what to do.  He grabbed a pair of jacks to lift one tire back to ground level, then placed a massive metal grate under the other tire.  Using two-by-fours we created a ramp so the car could back out.  He gunned it and ended up needlessly scratching the front bumper and scraped his differential.  As we drove up I told Roy that Elder Forsyth would think we were in the hole.  He did.  Called it. Next week we hit seven months together.

And here’s a story to prove how well we’ve come to know one another.  At the Christmas party on Saturday night we were all minding our own business just eating some Iban food when suddenly one of the members let us know it was time to play a game.  Just the missionaries – me and “Frosty” (Elder Forsyth’s Iban name), Elder Christiansen, Elder Alexius, and the sisters.  The game was rigged.  It was an eating contest.  But you can’t feed yourself.  Your companion was responsible for feeding you with his arms through yours.  The first competition was a cake-eating contest.  I lost rock, paper, scissors, so I ended up as the eater and Elder Forsyth was the feeder.  We had a plan and everything.  All he did was hold the plate to my face and I did the rest.  Next, I had to bananas to Forsyth.  Come on!  That’s got to be one of the weirdest things I have ever done with a companion.  Whatever.  Cuz we won that one too!  Forsyth ate six; the others only ate five.  Boom!  We rocked it.

This morning we went to the Hodders for a Christmas breakfast.  It was awesome.  They made sausage, bacon, pastries, French toast, and even brought us yogurt from Brunei. Way good.  It was my first yogurt in over a year.  Sadly, after we ate I started to feel really sick; congested and nasty.  Any how, Christmas is coming soon!  It’s the most wonderful time of the year.  And it’s my last Christmas in the mission field.  Crazy.  Tell Rick Fonbuena (and all the other RMs from our ward) I love him and miss him.

Here’s a special shout-out to Emilee on finally becoming a teenager!  I didn’t forget her birthday.  Don’t worry.  I just wanted Mary to have her own email and now Emilee gets this one all to herself.  Love you all.  Talk to you on your Friday around 5:00 p.m. your time.  (It will be 9:00 a.m. on Saturday for me.)

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas, 圣诞快乐 (Chinese) and Hari Rays Krismas (Malay)

  1. 6moodys says:

    I expect Elder Moody’s blog will reach 10,000 hits by the end of today!

  2. sister potter says:

    Merri Hari Krismas to you, too!!! I just want you to know that your mission is being experienced by me, I LOVE IT!!! You are a wonderful example. . .Blog ON!

Leave a Reply

