Good tidings to you, and all of your skin…

December 17, 2011

圣诞快乐 (Merry Christmas)

I’ll keep this short and sweet because we have some appointments tonight and I’m still tired from our visa run.  First of all, happy birthday to my now-of-legal-age sister, Mary.  I’ll try to send Christmas presents soon but they’ll definitely be late, probably really late.  It doesn’t mean I don’t love you; it just means I don’t love any of you enough to ride 20 minutes on my bike to the post office with a box in my hands.

Good tidings to you, and all of your skin...

The APs were here on Tuesday and I spent some time with Elder Jones.  He’s one of the most spiritual guys and best missionaries I have ever met.  Together we went to see Roy’s friend and two of Roy’s friend’s friends.  Elder Jones speaks Malay so it was good to have someone that could communicate better.  It was really good.  I learned some cool things during that lesson.  First, one of the things that makes Elder Jones such an excellent teacher is that he does everything – and I mean everything – that we have been taught to do by President Clark.  He did things I had totally forgotten about.  As a result of that experience I’m going back through all of my notes and re-doubling my efforts to put that training into practice.  Second, I understand enough Malay that I was able to switch directly into Chinese after Elder Jones taught things.  He didn’t need to translate for me at all.  Third, I talk too much.  I tend to speak too much during lessons.  I need to let Elder Forsyth do more.  It turned out to be a really good discussion.  Although they didn’t accept a date, we decided to pass them to the Malay elders and I think they will progress very nicely.  I should probably explain.  You see, they don’t speak Mandarin well enough to understand gospel terms so it would be better for them to hear the gospel in their native language.

We left the next day for our visa run to Singapore.  We had some good food, walked around Orchard to see the Christmas lights, then went to the Singapore apartment and hung out with everyone and had a good ‘ole time.  It was a lot of fun.  I really didn’t get anything special like shoes or a watch like I originally planned to.  I decided that I have more than enough so I’m all good.

 

I love you all!  I can’t wait to talk next week for Christmas!  So peace out and on earth! Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good tidings to you, and all of your skin…

  1. Tina Forsyth says:

    That a great missionary right there! So teachable! The Lord can work miracles through such men.

Leave a Reply

