Longhouse, lighthouse & my house!

Longhouse

November 30, 2011

Lighthouse

I am still in Miri.  Yep, it’s been over six months now in the same area with the same companion.  We were shocked.  When considering the possibilities, staying here with the same companion was way down the list.  We are both happy with the decision.  Elder Forsyth and I have had more success here in Miri in our six months together than Miri had in the previous 18 months.  What is that success?  After countless hours of knocking we were invited back into two houses in all of Miri.  That’s right.  Two houses in six months.  Have I mentioned that we’ve knocked every Chinese door in Miri?  Best of all, we had a baptism here.  That’s amazing!  In fact, Roy is doing great.  He passed the sacrament for the first time this week . . . and the members love us . . . and I’ll be here for Christmas . . . and we have a visa run coming up.

My house!

So the flood gates have opened and I realized how great it was that I’m not going anywhere!  Plus it boosted my faith in Miri.  And then Sunday hit.  I used to love Sunday. It was my favorite day of the week because it was so relaxing.  Now Sundays stress me out.  Here’s a snapshot of last Sunday.  I gave a talk.  We taught class (we always do).  It’s always a challenge getting people to church.  But this week we had four.  Yes, you read that right; four members at church!  And Roy brought a referral!  His name is Zhen Shi Fu and he’s “a friend of a friend.”  He gave us his number and set up appointment for tonight.  Maybe he is the reason that we’re still here.

For P-day today we went bowling, got some Indian food, and now I’m here.  Love you.

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longhouse, lighthouse & my house!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey Elder Moody is doing Fabulous!! What a challenge it is there! That is good for him! It will make him tough in The Gospel. That is how Ohio was for me. Now when things don’t go smooth and he feels like he is not making any progress he will pull in even closer to Heavenly Father for help. What a life changing experience for him! This is a bit confusing, I am not sure who this reply is going to but I hope Moody parents get it. Karen Fonbuena

Leave a Reply

