Rains, lanes and automobiles

May 19, 2011

We got back from zone conference at 5:00 a.m. this morning so I’m dead tired.  And now we only have three hours left for P-day and we’ve done nothing.  I’m not a happy camper at the moment.  Plus, we have to finish moving in like an hour.  Awesome.

Earlier this week I was riding next to the Jenkov (that’s one of about seven names I have for Elder Jenkins) and he goes, “Holy cow!,” not in a loud way, just kind of amazed.  So I looked over at him at the same time I felt pressure on my right leg.  I looked back and a car was pushing me into the sidewalk.  Whoever it was simply wasn’t paying attention, but Stella saved me.  If the handle bars weren’t as high as they are I definitely would have been knocked over, and maybe run over.  This was the second really close call with a car in less than a week.  I hate Malaysian drivers!  How they get licenses is beyond me.

We just had a lesson with Mr. Kho, who totally surprised us.  We showed up, planning to review the First Vision and then just answers his questions, but as we started into the first lesson he basically taught us.  He remembered everything.  I was at a loss.  That never happens.  It surprised the heck out of me.  So we changed course and decided to jump into the commandments.  Even the Word of Wisdom wasn’t a problem for him.  He said he only drinks tea and coffee because they’re cheap, and promised to stop.  As far as we know, he’s been living the commandments since Monday.  He’s always really good when we’re with him, but tends to get a little lazy after we leave.  It’s just a lack of faith that we need to help him build.  Also, he is always too busy to come to church and that’s something we have to figure out.

Kuching is known as the "Land of Cats"

We moved most of our stuff back to the old place on Monday just as it was starting to rain really hard.  We put a tarp in the back of a member’s truck and Elder Tippetts agreed to hold it down.  It kept coming up so I jumped back to help him hold it down.  I was face up, sprawled across suitcases in the biggest storm I’ve seen yet.  Lightning was crashing down everywhere.  What a trip!  We were soaked and miserable, but it’s all good.

And that’s our week.  Zone conference focused on humility.  Great training!  And it was fun to see everyone again.

Love you all.  Sorry again this is so short but I’m low on energy and creativity this week.

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

