Training again!

March 17, 2011

Avenging Angel (see the halo?)

I’m back in Sibu, the motherland, for some training.  I really love it here.  I love everything about it.  I was able to see our recent convert, J.B.  She’s doing great.  I also went to see my Iban mom, Helen.  While she’s got nothing on my real mom, she is really kind to us.  She made me a bead necklace because when I left and fed us curry.  Can!

Three missionaries – two bikes

I guess the most pressing news I have to offer is that I’m training again.  I’m in a threesome with Elder Lim and Elder Jenkins from Lehi, Utah.  (I miss Lehi Roller Mills muffins!)  Elder Jenkins actually started with Elder Teng, but just couldn’t deal with him so I’m now taking over.

The house in Kuching was repaired so we no longer have to turn off the water when we aren’t using it.  That’s a blessing, but I still don’t have a mattress, a desk, or a study room.  Studying on my bed is really difficult.  When Elder Lim leaves at the end of the month, me and Elder Jenkins will move out and into a much nicer house in a more central location.  It’s in the middle of Kuching as opposed to the outskirts where we are now.  The work will progress!

We did a lot of contacting this past week with very little success, but I’m used to that. Referrals are definitely the best way to find investigators, but those are hard to come by. To everyone back home, please give the missionaries referrals, okay?

We are working hard to get a Mandarin group started in Kuching, but it’s a fairly daunting task.  In all of Kuching there are only eight or nine Chinese members, and half of them really aren’t capable of serving in leadership positions yet.  The one white guy that was supposed to help us was mugged in China and now is back in America to heal up and recover.  He should be back in Kuching sometime in April.

Sungai Merah

We came to Sibu on a boat from Kuching!  It was awesome.  It took just half the time as a bus does and we got to see a bunch of little villages and Iban longhouses along the way.  The river we were on is a light brown color.  The people actually call it the Sungai Merah or Red River.  You’ll see it in the pictures.  It was also cool to see Sibu from the river.  I’ve always been on land looking out so now I have both perspectives.  Sibu looks even smaller from the river.  Kuching is too flippin’ big!  The distance from our house to the church in Kuching is the total size of Sibu.  But also can.  There are enough houses for us to contact, forever.  Also, I’m planning on being in Kuching for a very long time.  It’s rare to be in an area for only three months and I just did it twice.  I’m thinking I could be here for as long as eight months.  Hopefully, by the time I leave we will have a Mandarin branch started.  I’d like that, and that’s what I’m working towards.

Our training has been really good.  President Clark focused on prayer; the power of prayer, how we get our prayers answered, and when to pray and what to pray for.  My favorite part was the 3 Nephi 18:21: “Pray in your families unto the Father, always in my name, that your wives and your children may be blessed.”  Sounds to me like fathers have an important part in calling down blessings from heaven for their families?  The relationship between righteousness and receiving is very interesting and difficult to understand.  Every commandment has a specific blessing directly related to it, but few are specified.  For example: “Honor thy father and thy mother, that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.”  Also, “There is a law, irrevocably decreed in heaven before the foundations of this world, upon which all blessings are predicated—And when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated.”  (D&C 130:20-21.)

My Singlish is progressing well.  Here’s a story in Singlish:

You know already Japan kena earthquake-ed one.  Don’t say I say what?  Brother Danny Kho in Batu Kawa branch that one preach at us so hard still cannot hear.  He talk, I catch no ball, ah.  So last time he tell class that earthquake confirm God punish one.  He basically say God sabo Japan, then lose form.  So I tell him, why God punish Japan lor, maybe that one is natural only you know?  Maybe he lose face, maybe not.  This one still think Brother Danny most time blur.

I actually talk like that to Malaysians now.  The worst part is, they understand it. Everything is going well here in good ‘ole Malaysia!  Talk to you all next week.

Love you!

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

