Uplift and upspire… Wait…

November 11, 2010

Well the subject this week was a slip-up that Elder Nightingale made when telling us our purpose at Zone Council.  Funny stuff right?  It’s one of those you-had-to-be-there moments, I assure you.

I have to start off with some bad news.  Mary, Singapore no have Nixon-Newton watches.  Some like it have, but real where got?  Here no got.  Anything else I can get you?

Last Thursday we had appointments all day.  At about 4:00 p.m. we were on our way to eat with a recent convert when I started getting really cold and achey.  It only got worse on the MRT, but I had some noodles and it got better for about five minutes, then spiked a temperature.  On the way home I was actually shivering because I was so flippin’ cold.  All during this Elder Teng was mad at me because I said I needed to go home, like honestly ticked off at me.  Well, we got home, I turned the aircon to 27 C, put three blankets on me, and shivered until I fell asleep for about three hours.  I woke up at 10:00 p.m., checked my temp (103° F) and went back to bed.  The next two days was laced with sleeping and only waking up for cirit-birit (“cheer-eat, beer-eat”; Maylasian for diarrhea) fits.  The good news from all this?  I lost a good deal of weight — my pants are loose, baby!  I’m fine now.  No worries.  The work continues.

Ooh, this is fun.  This Sunday we’re going to a wedding!  Did you know that elders can legally perform marriages?  None of us are going to and I’ve never heard of an elder who has but at least the option is there you know?  The entire thing will be in Chinese so it’ll be like three hours of language study.  Whoop, whoop.

We get a new Chinese elder in two weeks from Hong Kong.  His arrival may mean a transfer for me.  We’ll see.  It isn’t like I’m transfer-trunky or anything.

I’ve discovered a new habit Teng has developed.  You know how a milestone of child development is when infants begin to point?  Teng really never left that phase.  At intervals throughout the day he’ll point off in a random direction and grunt or mumble something.  I’ve discovered that if I don’t look, he gets offended so I have to look the direction he points and give some form of acknowledgement, usually a reply in the form of an “uh” or “eh.”  It’s hysterical if I’m with someone else, but if it’s just him, it gets pretty mafan (annoying).

Grandma and Grandpa Moody sent me a box with a bunch of Christmas music!  Trans-Siberian Orchestra and Celtic Christmas stuff dominates the bulk of it, but they also sent me the soundtrack from The Home Teachers.  It’s like Primary songs and Church hymns on steroids.  So funny.  Our ZLs are dying to get it from me, but nope.  It’s mine.

Food court at Bugis Junction

We had a cool experience last night.  We were teaching a lesson at the food court in Bugis because it was a good midway point for the investigator.  Halfway through the lesson, an older woman sat down near us and, while she ate, started listening to the discussion.  By the time she was finished eating, she was fully involved in the lesson and even turned her chair toward us and Elder Teng began to involve her in the whole shabang.  After we finished, we invited the lady to sit with us, and we taught her the entire first lesson and then set up an appointment for today.  So cool!

Well all, I’m off to the zoo.  Love you guys!  Keep sending letters.  I love getting them.  :)

Also can,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

