Batman jumps over the Great Wall

November 3, 2010

So the subject of this e-mail is a code-phrase used by Singapore missionaries.  It means that your companion is on one, is about to start yelling, or has already started yelling, and may begin to break things.  Batman has been jumping over the Great Wall!

So I guess the biggest news I have is…  I am officially a full fledged missionary.  I finished my training, which involves teaching the ZLs lessons and finishing the Book of Mormon and things like that.  I’m finally not a greenie anymore!  Whoot whoot!

This week had been pretty cool.  First of all, Elder Gottfredson and Kelley moved in today.  I love them both and they’re way cool.  I’m glad to have someone else in the house. I’ve found that when the other missionaries left, I was the only one Teng could blame for things.  Do you know how hard it is to admit that everything that goes wrong is your fault?  For example: Teng left his clothes in the washer overnight.  Somehow, it was my fault.  Go figure.  Teng was also made district leader…  “Any power or influence…”  He runs our district meetings like a drill sergeant.  It’s been a tough week with Batman.

On a lighter note, Stacy sent me a package!!!  I love it.  Candy, pictures from a while ago, and an invitation to my baptism more than 11 years ago.  She also sent a photo of Mom and Dad from their college days.  Dad, you look like a Beatle.  Straight up.  Please send me Stacy’s address (I think I threw it away or something and it wasn’t included on the box).  I need to write back to Drew.  He sent me a letter.  That kid is a total stud.

I have a request to make of the California Moodys for Christmas.  Kyal, I would like you to compose some recipes for me to make.  Each time I make one of your recipes, I will send you a picture of it.  Also, come up with a good name for the book.  You’re good at that kind of stuff.

So, Friday night, Teng’s former branch president from China was in Singapore, and one of the members here invited us over to his house.  The local member’s name is John Lim. He lives behind the house where Bruce Lee lived.  It’s a $30 million, 7,000 square foot house filled with amazing artifacts.  [Forbes lists John Lim as #38 on Singapore’s Richest.]

Everyone that has money in Singapore has a maid.  Our apartment even has a room where the maid would sleep, do the laundry and use the restroom.  It’s all detached from the rest of the house so she would never really come inside.

To close today, I’d like to end with a story about fasting.  We have an investigator named Chang Jun.  He is the first investigator we’ve had that I’ve taught alone (with only members’ help).  Well, I set a baptismal date with him and everything was good to go, but the next day he told me he had a problem with tithing.  His family is very poor, and he supports himself, his mother, and a brother and sister, all of whom are married and out of work in China.  He could not figure out how he could support them and pay tithing.  I left pretty disappointed.  After reading some of the e-mails from other missionaries from our stake that Mom printed and sent to me, I was inspired to fast specifically for him and the principle of tithing.  On Sunday, Elder Teng and I fasted until 7:00 p.m.  At 7:30 p.m., Chang Jun called and ask if he could meet with us the next day.  When we met, he said that tithing was no longer a problem and he wanted to be baptized.  It was a miracle.

I love being on a mission, even if it can be frustrating at times.  The Lord has a plan for what we need to do and how we need to improve in order to return to His presence.  The Church is true!  I love you all and I’ll talk to you soon!

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batman jumps over the Great Wall

  1. Andrea Phipps says:

    We love all your posts Elder Moody.

Leave a Reply

