Mooncake Festival

September 22, 2010

It’s been a really good week.  I taught a lesson on splits for the first time last Friday.  Elder Teng surprised me by leaving and having a member I don’t know stay with me.  Then, he dropped off three more investigators, all of who are at vastly different levels.  So, I taught a first lesson with second, third, and fourth lesson principles mingled in.  The ward mission leader of the Mandarin (2nd) Ward brought it up and everyone had a good laugh.

Saturday we had a ward Mooncake Festival.  It’s held on the 15th day of the eighth month in the Chinese calendar, which is usually around late September or early October in the Gregorian calendar when the moon is at its fullest.  The traditional food of the festival is the mooncake.  It was way fun.  There was some great food, and then we played games.  I say “games” very loosely; I had no idea what was going on and they kept trying to have me start out the games, so I just looked like a total noob.

Oh, dad, you’ll love this.  They have a lot of English stuff here.  I think I’ve had Ribena everyday day for two weeks as well as McVitties digestives.  They make a great breakfast food.  Ever had Ribena lemonade?  It’s blackcurrant lemonade, and it’s incredible.

Well, Momma Dee, I finally had chili crab, and it is every bit as good as they say it is.  I had it at this big buffet, so it was bottomless.  I have learned a very important lesson here; Chinese food gives me cirit-birit (pronounced “cheer-eat-beer-eat”), and is the Malay word for “diarrhea”.  So bad.

The people here just assume that I am completely intolerant to spicy food.  So I love it when they see me eat something hot.  They flip out.  The Asians always say, “No!  Cannot eat.  Much spice!  Too spice!”  But in reality, it’s just good.  Asians think that every single white person will be the exact same.  Even after they see they’re wrong.  To explain, they now assume that every white person loves spicy food, only because I did.

On Friday night we had dinner in a house, a house! The member’s name is Dianna.  She’s a great cook and is always so nice to us.  Her house is three stories tall.  A house in Singapore is rare; a three-story house is unheard of.  She’s loaded.

So let me tell you all about an investigator we have named Kelly.  She originally only came to church so I could correct her English paper.  She’s about 30 and writes like a four-year old, but at least she tries.  Anyway, when we started teaching her she had no interest in the gospel.  After about three weeks of meeting with her twice a week, we decided that we needed to have a bomb lesson (i.e., a lesson which dictates whether or not you keep teaching them).  I started the lesson.  I taught alone by the way – well with a member, but not with Teng – and began by asking her if she believes in God.  Up until this point her answer has been a resounding “No,” so I was expecting the same answer we’d heard 10 times before.  She surprised me by saying “Yes,” and a strong yes at that.  So I asked if she believes in Jesus Christ.  Also a “Yes!”  Then the Book of Mormon.  She said it is a very good book, but doesn’t know if it is true . . . yet.  She also said that she likes coming to church and “feels good” in the building.  It was amazing.  This woman went from nearly dropped to golden in just three days.  I still don’t know how it happened, but it was a miracle.

Sunday went as usual, Church and a few lessons then home to study.

Monday I went on splits with Elder Schone.  I don’t know if I’ve introduced him. He’s a roommate.  His dad is a linguist and the head of FamilySearch.org.  Schone has written a book and several musicals.  He’s in a musical group that only sings hymns.  He speaks, including Greek, seven languages.  We contacted all day at a place called Lucky Plaza in Orchard.  He told me the entire plot of several movies and TV shows including Sliders, The Pretender, Kronk’s New Groove, and some movie, the name of which I’ve forgotten.  I just listened politely while trying to share the gospel.  He’s pretty amazing.  He basically has the entire Book of Mormon memorized.  He also thinks that he speaks Chinese.  Bahahahaha!!!  He sounds like his mouth is filled with cotton balls when he tries to talk.  Mary, he’s the kind of guy you and I need to be friends with at BYU.

Yesterday (Tuesday) we had zone conference.  President Clark taught us about angels, who they are, what they do, and all kinds of cool stuff.  He brought up an interesting fact.  All of us have probably seen or spoken with an angel in our lives.  We just didn’t know it.  An angel can be anyone sent of God.  But I also think that we’ve probably seen heavenly beings at one point or another.  Very cool stuff.

Elder Teng and I are same ole.  It’s a learning experience and I’m dealing, so it’s all good.

I don’t specifically prefer any type of letter.  I love getting anything.  They take about two weeks to get here, but once in a while something will get here in about eight or nine days.  My box should get home late this week or early the next week.  I hope all is well in your half of the world.  Keep writing!  I love getting all your letters.

Christine, I hope Joey enjoys Utah.  But if he goes to the U, sparks will fly.

Have a great week everyone!  The Church is true!

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mooncake Festival

  1. Kelli Ross says:

    I was cracking up with your letter. When you said you were getting cheer-eat-beer-eat, I thought you were going to say you were putting on some pounds and getting a gut. It sounds like quite the adventure. Thanks for sharing your stories.
    Kelli Ross

Leave a Reply

