17th letter from MTC

August 6, 2010

Hey Everyone,

This is just gonna be another short letter to hopefully get you through the weekend. Can you believe I have less than 20 days left in the MTC? I can’t wait! One of the things I’m most excited for getting to Malaysia and being able to send everyone some sweet stuff.

Sam, sorry I didn’t send anything, but everything at the book store here is super boring. I’ll send you something sweet from Singapore or Malaysia. That’ll be cool. Right? Good.

So yesterday, I had to go to a 40 minute Malaria class with Elder Whinham and Elder Wood (one of the newbies going to Singapore. Well actually the only newbie going.) The doctor talked to us about preventing Malaria and signs that we have it. He also told us Malaria is not a problem in Singapore or in any coastal cities, but inland Malaysia it might be.

He said when we get there we’ll need to get some bug spray and this stuff that binds to clothing fabric and kills ‘squitos on contact. It lessens Malaria by 98%. I also have to take a bunch of pills that kill off Malaria bugs. there are three kinds. Lariam, which is one pill once a week and $1.50 a pill. Something something cycline, one pill a day every day, $.20 a pill. Malarme. One pill once a day, $5.00 a pill. The cycline stuff is what the Church uses most often. But I only have to take it when the Mission President directs, so probably never.

Also, Elder Lee got his call! He’ll be serving in the Oakland/San Francisco Mission, Chinese speaking. That’s the same mission Ian is going to! He’s way excited, plus he gets to leave in 6 ays. three times faster than the res of us. Crazy.

Dad, you rock. Keep the scouting girl locked away somewhere, but keep it legal. She’s dang good looking! But that may be my 9 week MTC goggles speaking…But I don’t think so. I have to say though, most people that into scouting are a bit off. So I guess what I’m saying is, “Is she flippin’ weird?” I’ll trust your answer on this one. Hooray arranged marriages! Our district had a good laugh at that. They said they know where my humor comes from.

They also mentioned you, Mom. That letter you wrote on the beach was hilarious. You win! I really am sorry I didn’t send Sam anything. I promise I will from Singapore.

Let me tell you about what I did last night. You know those tennis balls you sent? Well I kept them in the pack. Last night I decided to see if I could catch a tennis ball in the canister. I can. So, we started making the throws and catches harder and harder. We’d have someone bounce the ball around the corner, then someone else would catch it. Or one would throw;another would head butt it, then another would kick it, then another would catch it. That one took a few tries. But the icing on the cake came when I dropped the tennis ball down 8 flights of stairs between railing that gave the ball maybe two inches of clearance on each side. So, I dropped it 4 STORIES, and Elder Hanson (not in my district, but in my zone) caught it. And we got it on video. Protect that video with your life. I’ll send the card home tomorrow. Or I’ll try at least. We’ll see. It’s got a bunch of video on it. I think you’ll like it.

What else….Hmmmmm….I only have two p-days left at the MTC! So crazy. Oh! Favor, will you send me Bo’s address? Actually everyone? I want to be able to write them before I leave. I can’t really think of anything else to write right now. Maybe there isn’t anything else! oh, never mind.

Mary, I loved the pictures. EFY looked like a blast. I know exactly where everyone of them was taken. Mostly because I’ve done super fun stuff at everyone of those spots. I’m so excited for you to get to BYU. Shark Week looked fun too!

Emi, I want you to write me a two page story about something. Anything. But make it good. I’ll write you one back. Maybe part two of your story. We’ll see.

Lemme tell a quick story. Me, Lee, and Wyatt were in the gym, messing around on the elipticals. Like this (he drew a picture) So, three people on two machines. Just a goofy thing to do. another INCREDIBLY awkward Elder, came by and inquired (because he’s awkward) what we were doing. We said, if you get going the right speed, it feels like you’re on a horse! So he inquired us for permission to attempt the feat. We granted it. So, he get’s going and starts freaking out. Like excited freaking out and loudly exclaims, “I’ve never been on a horse before!” I started laughing so hard I was almost in tears. One of the funniest things I’ve ever heard and/or seen.

The level of awkward at the MTC is incredible. It’s like an awkward Christmas for me. Perfect!

I know that this Church is true. The Holy Ghost has borne witness to me many times. I know that through it, families are strengthened, that families can live together forever, and that couples can be sealed for time and all eternity. I know that I’m doing the most important work man can do on earth. I’m literally saving souls. If God’s glory is to bring the pass the eternal life of man, then it should be ours too. Through prayer we can literally talk with God. He will answer us. These things I bear my witness. Through study and prayer, we can know the truth of all things.

Love,

Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

