6th e-mail from MTC

July 12, 2010

Nimen hao!  Zheshi liu libai.  Wo you banfa!

Anyway, it’s week 6 now!  And I can finish this!  We watched a movie last night after the fireside that made me want to get into the field so bad.  Oh, and the fireside!  It was amazing.  Jenny Oaks Baker spoke and performed on violin.  She’s a classical legend.  She went to Julliard and Curtis and that other super compepetive music school in New York and it blew my away.  She is the daughter of Dallin H. Oaks, and he was there presiding.

Funny story about Elder Oaks.  Elder Stone in my district was holding the door for him, and he actually brushed shoulders with an apostle.  So, Elder Stone came and sat back down everyone was like, “That was so cool!  You touched an apostle!”  He thought we were kidding; he had no idea that Elder Oaks was even there, and was clueless that he just held a door open for him.  Ridiculous.

So tomorrow the older districts leave.  All of them.  So our zone will be down to 37 elders.  But then, a week from this Wednesday, our zone will double in size.  There will be 80 Chinese-speaking elders!!!  That’s insane.  But it’s cool cuz we’ll be the older elders.  That’ll be an experience.

In preperation for our upcoming seniority status, we’ve been trying to step up our game.  And by “step up” I mean that me and Elder Chung are memorizing 400 vocab words this week — outside of class.  That’s gonna be so hard, but we’re blessed here, so we can do it.  We also got new district leaders this week.  Our DL is now Sima Zhanglao (Elder Smith).  He’s an interesting character, but it should be good.  Also, his twin brother gets into our zone at the same time we get new missionaries.  That’s pretty awesome.

This week in other news — that elder in my district whose name I shouldn’t mention too often — you give him an inch and he’ll take a mile.  Seriously, I can’t let him start a story unless I have a free hour to talk.  But hey, he likes to talk I guess.  Last night, he was describing to me how he memorized his Social Security number.  He said, “It’s a set of syphlatic numbers so it’s easy.”  Now, I’m no genius, but I’m pretty darn sure syphlatic has nothing to do with numbers.  Someone please look it up and let me know.  He is just a goofy kid, but I’m tryin to be nice.  He makes me miss Sam a lot cuz he’s like a little brother, but not a good one like Hosehead.  (Love you Sam!)

I can’t belive I only have six weeks left.  It feels like I got here a week and a half ago!  But everything is coming along well.  We got a baptismal commitment from our progressing investigator!  We had to ask three times.  The first time he flatly said “No.”  Then, we bore testimony and asked again.  He said he didn’t know enough, so we told him baptism is a step of faith, bore testimony again, and asked a third time after which he said “Yes!”  It was so cool.  I usually would have stopped after he said no once, but the Spirit prompted and it was just incredible.

I don’t have much left to say, so I’ll just end here for now.  I love you all so much.  The Lord blesses our lives more than we could ever know.  I love you Dad.  Love you Mom.  Love you Mary.  Love you Sam.  Love you Emi!

The Church is true.  Tell your friends.

Mu Zhanglao

P.S.  Could you send me some more althletic socks, or just normal socks?  I always have to triple up.

P.P.S.S.  Dad, I cannot convey how genius that letter was.  I died laughing.

P.P.P.S.S.S.  When is Kyal gonna start writing his spy letters?

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

