11th letter from MTC

July 12, 2010

And it came to pass, in the 19th year of the reign of the red-head, that Elder Johnson Moody did write many things pertaining to his family. And the whole of those things cannot be written upon this legal pad, but the lesser part of those things I do write, that the family of him might know of things that are, things that were, and things that may or may not come to pass.

Whoa…I’m really sorry about that… I’ve just been reading so much this past week..haha, I know you all like that. But seriously. This week I finished Ether, Moroni, Helaman, and Jacob, and I’m halfway through 3rd Nephi. I like reading specific books rather than just going straight though. It helps me to concentrate on the book that I’m reading. Ether is my favorite.

Okay, so Saturday we had our weekly TA (teaching appointment.) We had to help our “investigator” move and teach them to pray in Chinese. My investigator happened to be a Singapore native, so that was pretty sweet. The Chinese part was way easy. But the lesson was a little harder. She was a hard investigator. But we committed her to live the Word of Wisdom and go off tea. She wouldn’t accept baptism though. Even after asking three times. Still a good lesson.

Well, I’m in the laundry room now. Just kinda chillin’ writing a letter and waiting for stuff to finish. This is my fifth p-day already. Only 6 real ones left! The last one is the day I leave, so it doesn’t really count.

Oh! At lunch today, I accidentally spilled some salt, and thought nothing about it. A few seconds later, I saw Elder Chung pour some salt into his hand and throw it over his left shoulder. I was intrigued. So a little later on, I spilled it again. And again he threw salt over his shoulder. I repeated this experiment three more times. And each one delivered the same results. He’s super-stitious! Not just a little-stitious, he’s super-stitious! Just add another to his list of quirks. He’s such a goof.

Momma, absolutely love how close you’ve gotten to the spirit. You’re such a flippin’ inspiration. I love it! I also really like how you’re teaching your class. You’re a great teacher and you’re super receptive to the spirit.

Ah! Mama! You’re awesome. I’m gonna go pick up the package you sent in a few seconds. Keep writing me! Ask questions too. I want to answer you.

Want to hear some sad new? The gym closes tomorrow, and will be closed the rest of my time here. So no more ballin’ for the white, average height, red head kid. Guess I’ll have to go running now, or something. Ah well.

Wanna hear some good news? We get to clean the temple next Monday and then it opens again in like two weeks. That’s awesome. I really want to go again pretty bad. Also, I found out that I may not be able to go by the title of “elder” in Malaysia, so I’d just use my first and last name, which I still don’t have (first name I mean.) We’ll see though.

I’m halfway done! That’s nuts. I want to get to Singapore so bad. But the MTC gets easier and easier. I also found out from Elder Wood today that Mark get’s here before I leave! So me, Roland, Elliot, and Mark will all be here together. That’s awesome. Shege jiaohui shi zhenshi ode! Gaosu nimen de penayoumen.

Keep the letters coming!

Love Elder Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

