8th letter from MTC

July 3, 2010

Hey fam!

Thanks for the advice.  Wish I would’ve had the part about relying on the Lord as opposed to my own intelligence a bit sooner.  Definitely learned that the hard way.

Here’s a funny story.  Early this week I instituted “The Drinking Game.”  Every class, we spin a pen and whoever it points to has to drink “the concoction.”  Then, the spinner makes him a drink consisting of three different beverages (i.e., “the concoction”).  Anything goes.  The drinker then has 10 guesses to get it right, and he has to sip before each guess.  If he cannot guess “the concoction” within 10 tries, he must then drink two glasses of “the concoction.”  If he does get it right, he doesn’t have to drink anymore.  Game over.

For instance, I had to drink for dinner tonight.  It took me all 10 tries, but I finally got it right.  My concoction ended up being one part chocolate milk, one part orange juice and one part soda water.  I get to make “the concoction” for Elder Whinham tomorrow.  That’ll be fun!

Keep sending snacks.  I share them with everyone.  I’ve lost four pounds since arriving.  Not sure how that works because the food is all from the same lard-based meat substitute, but I’m not complaining.

The language is coming along so fast.  It blows me away how much I’m blessed.  And remember how I said Qián Lǎoshǐ didn’t like us?  Well, he’s turned a corner…with me anyway.  He’s a great guy, just a little awkward.  Love him though.

Some things can be better said in Chinese, so here it goes: Wǒ hěn gǎxíe nǐ gěi wǒ hěnhăo de Zhāngdà.  Nǐ shì feīchĕng hāo de Māma.  Wǒ aì nĭ.  (So you may not get that, but hey, it’s the only way to say it.)

I think we’re gonna start [Chinese] character study soon.   So that’ll be an adventure unto itself.

The weeks go by so fast here!  Everything is going swimmingly, Momma.  No need to worry about anything.  Just keep writing.

Elder Chung sent a letter for the first time earlier in the week.  First time!  And he didn’t know it needed a stamp.  So sheltered.  Then the next day, he sent one to Boston with two stamps on it.  He thought that sending a letter out of state required two stamps.  He’s a funny, funny guy.

You know what I miss?  Those lazy summer afternoons by the pool.  I loved those.

I love you.  Here’s another Chinese testimony for you.  But before that, I’m teaching our “investigator” again tomorrow.  The 2nd lesson is harder because it’s so doctrinally dense, but I’m excited.

Wǒ zhīdaò yēsì sīmì fānyì Mó’ěrménjīng.  Wǒ zhīdaò Mó’ěrménjīng shì zhēnshí de Tīanfù de huà.  Feīchěng gǎnxiè Shén dāng rǎng wǒ chuánjiào.  Zhīdaò wǒ de múdàoyǒu xūyào Yēsū Jīdū de fúyīn, érqǐe wǒ kěyǐ gěi tāmen shìqing.  Wǒmen dōu xūyào Shènglíng zaì zhōng wǒmen de xīn.  Fèng Yēsū Jīdū de míng, Amen.

Some of the tones might be a little off, so I apologize for that.  Also, Chinese grammar is rough, but it’s coming along quickly.

I know that I’m where I need to be, and that I’m on the Lord’s time, not my own.  I know you’ll all be ok because the Lord blesses the families of missionaries so long as they serve faithfully, and I’m trying my best.

I love you all so much,

穆敬伦

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

