1st e-mail from MTC

June 14, 2010

Other side of the world

What is you companion’s name and where is he from?

  • Elder Ammon Chung, from Draper Utah.

What are your dorm rooms like?

  • They’re way gross.  And the showers are worse.  Two of them don’t have shower heads and the other three don’t put out warm water.  Cold showers for 12 weeks? Cool.

Do you like your district?  How many kids are in it?

  • My district is way awesome.  There are 10 kids, most of them are going to Taichung, Taiwan.  Three of us are going to Singapore.  I sent a letter Saturday, so you’ll hear about them.

How is language learning going?

  • The language is hard, but the Spirit is really helping.  Me and elder Chung speak it a lot.  Any time we can in fact, so we’re progressing quickly.

Have you seen kids from BYU?

  • Yeah.  I’ve seen several kids from my quorum, but you wouldn’t know any of them. It’s always good to see friends, though.

Are you getting our letters?

 

  • I’ve gotten two letters thus far.  WRITE MORE!  I love getting them.  They honestly make my day.

Did you get our care package?

  • Yep, and thank you very much.  :)

What do you learn all day?

  • We study everything from the gospel to our language (which is actually only two topics).  It was really hard at first because everything is so repetitive and scheduled, but Sunday and P-day (today) kind of make it easier.

Are you happy?

  • I’m pretty happy.  Those first few days were rough, but I’m getting into the swing of things. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still hard, but getting easier.

Do you need me to bring you anything?

  • Nope, I’m good.

We drove by the temple yesterday and saw tons of missionaries, but not you.  Were you there?  We are sending letters almost every day.  Mary says too many, but I can’t help myself.  Would you prefer dearelder.com?

  • Yep I probably was, but only after 3:00 p.m.  They’re really strict about times and stuff.  Any way you want to send them works great for me.  I’m proud of you too, Mom.  You’re honestly so amazing.  I’ve heard a lot about other moms, and they pale in comparison.  My companion has never done his own laundry.  I think that’s kind of funny.  In college, he would just go home and have his mom do it.

How is the sleep thing going?  Can you sleep at night?

  • Yeah.  I’m sleeping fine, but sometimes it’s a bit hard.  One of our roommates has had a bad cough since we got here, so that makes things hard.  You can imagine.

Here’s a funny story.  We have an elder in our district from Australia, and on our temple walk yesterday, me and Elder Chung were walking ahead of him.  He said, and I quote, “We’ve got a ranga (an Australian word for red head [pronounced rain-ga] and an Asian …  It’s like a zoo, and I’m the main attraction!”  He gets a lot of attention from us because of his sweet accent.

We got back from the temple about two hours ago, and it was way good.  It’s just so calming and peaceful.  Sadly, it’s the last time we’ll be able to go for five weeks because it’s closing.  I love you!  Don’t miss me, it stresses me out.

Tell Mary to write me, and Sam and Emi.  Oh, and let Dad know that I love, love, love the family history book.  It’s so incredible.  Any more family stories would be appreciated.  I really do love you.  Remember, I’m doing the Lord’s work!

Elder Moody (Mú Zhǎnglǎo)

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Letters & e-mails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

